What Could Possibly Go Wrong?!

Okay peeps, I’ll start at the beginning…

I was nice & cosy in my bed on a dark and wintery Sunday night, oogling Facebook, or to be truthful, a group dedicated to the incredibly talented & delectable actor, Robert Carlyle.  I am crap at doing anything creative and knew that he would rather
his fans give to charity rather than send him gifts.  This got me thinking, and that isn’t the best scenario for me, at the best of times… My followers on here will know how chaotic my brain/life balance is, i.e . I should be taken away to a darkened room & left to rot until I come to my senses…

Sorry readers, this didn’t happen.  I found myself tweeting a message to Mr Carlyle & With Kids  (Robert is an Ambassador of the charity) saying “Hey, I’ll do a skydive for you because I am obviously bonkers”.  Oh dear!

Sadly, Robert never saw this post.  However With Kids did, http://www.withkids.org.uk/ and happily for me, so did Tiffany Helen Innes, who said “ooh, I’ve got a free weekend, can I do it with you?”

So now Tiffs and I are scheduled to jump out of a plane flying at 14,000 feet on 31st May at St Andrews in Fife.  Me and my big ideas…

I don’t know about Tiffs, but I am a scaredy puss about everything.  I don’t like water, I don’t like heights & I’ve only made it three rungs up a ladder.  I’ve been waking up at night with palpitations about all this; is it possible to get PTSD before the event?

I have heard of many people doing skydives who were terrified beforehand, but I’ve never heard anyone saying afterwards ‘that was terrible’, so it’s going to be okay, surely!

I did a little research.  I was in London recently & managed to crane my neck at The Shard (the tallest building for now in the western world).  I thought “This will be okay, a couple of the Shards, or maybe 3…I’ll be fine! (I wanted to go up but Daughter had an unfeasible wish to take the stairs…)

OOPS!

It turns out that The Shard is only 1003 feet high.  We’re jumping between 10,000 and 14,000 feet.  I’m crap at maths but even I know that that is a few extra Shards…

This video is my inspiration! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xamxLnDuo3c&feature=share&list=FLO8hNrHmZzbCeRY8okp56aw&index=51 Don’t they look happy?  However, this will be the reality http://youtu.be/e2yoWDKFk-E At our fastest point during free-fall, I think that we reach about 140 miles per hour. Oh.My.God!

Right! I’m off; I need Rescue Remedy and a lie down….

With Kids is based in Glasgow and Edinburgh and helps severely disadvantaged children and their families in Scotland. Charity no: SCO22467

This is where you can donate, pretty please! https://mydonate.bt.com/fundraisers/withkidsskydive?

Leave a comment